Recipe Fail


**Let me preface this by saying that this recipe was made while I was without a kitchen light. I was cooking by office lamp and it made me absolutely crazy.**

Not all recipes turn out the way you hope and this one is a great example. I found a recipe that looked delicious and only used two ingredients, lemon pie filling and a box of angel food cake mix. I thought that would be right up my alley! So, when I went grocery shopping I added those two ingredients to my list. Well, here is where things get off track…I couldn’t find lemon pie filling so I decided to get lemon pudding mix instead. My logic being that the lemon pudding box has a recipe for how to make lemon pie filling.

So, I made the lemon pudding pie filling following the directions on the box and stuck it in the fridge while I got the rest of the stuff together. (Ok, the other ONE ingredient!)

Lemon Cake Fail {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I greased my bundt pan (here I go straying from the original recipe again) and mixed the food cake mix and pudding pie filling in a bowl with a spoon. I also added 2 tbsp of fresh lemon juice for a little more authentic lemon flavor.

Lemon Cake Fail {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I poured the batter into the bundt pan and baked for double the time the original recipe called for.

Lemon Cake Fail {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com

When I took it out, it didn’t look TOO bad and I was pretty proud of myself. It had a very crunchy crust that was delicious.

Lemon Cake Fail {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com

Then, I tried to remove it…

Lemon Cake Fail {moorethanamommy.wordpress.comSeriously…this was the ugliest cake I have ever seen, but if you top a slice with some whipped cream and sliced strawberries, it didn’t taste like it looked! All in all, I think it turned out ok, but next time I will search a little harder for the correct ingredients.

Please tell me I am not the only one with a recipe fail?!

 

The original recipe was found at Real Mom Kitchen. She has some awesome recipes, you should check her out!

Get in on the conversation