Weekly Dinner Menu 7/16-7/22 Around $60


This week my menu looks something like this:

Monday: Parmesan Cornmeal Chicken Strips with Potato Wedges (potatoes were leftover from last week)

Tuesday: Macaroni and Meatballs with Parmesan Zucchini (Spaghetti is just too hard for the little one to eat)

Wednesday: Meatball Subs with Green Beans (using the left over meatballs)

Thursday: Fast Chicken Fajitas (I had tortillas left from last week)

Friday: Pork Roast with Au Jus, salad, and Mashed Potatoes

Saturday: Leftovers/Clean out the Fridge

Sunday: Crock Pot Italian Chicken recipe from The Girl Who Ate Everything

My grocery list:

4-lbs of Chicken Breasts (B1G1 at WD)

4-lbs of Chicken Tenders (B1G1 WD)

Hormel Port Roast (B1G1 at WD)

3 Bell Peppers

Zucchini (1.29 lb at  WD)

Red Onion

Sub Bread

Cream Cheese

Mozzarella Cheese Slices

Prego Sauce (on sale at Publix)

Cream of Onion Soup

Italian Dressing Mix

Armour Frozen Meatballs (B1G1 at Publix)

Grand total for my groceries was $60.67

Note: If you live in the south and are looking for the best deals at stores, I use Southern Savers for all my sale items! Jenny does a great job of telling you what is on sale where and which coupons to use. She does all the work for me!

Fast Chicken Fajitas Recipe

Ingredients :

1.5 lbs chicken cutlets (this time, I will use chicken breast that I have sliced in half and pounded down)

2 tbsp. vegetable oil

1 tsp. chili powder

salt & pepper (to taste)

3 bell peppers, thinly sliced (I usually use yellow, red, and orange)

medium red onion, thinly sliced

4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced (I just use minced garlic, I have a huge jar in the fridge)

8 6″ flour tortillas (you could use corn tortillas, if you prefer)

sour cream for serving

Heat broiler with rack 4″ from heat. Arrange chicken on a rimmed baking sheet lined with foil. Rub 1  tbsp oil onto chicken and season with chili powder, salt, and pepper. Broil 5-7 minutes.

In a bowl, toss peppers, onions, and garlic with 1 tbsp oil and season with salt and pepper. Place on a foil lined baking sheet and broil until tender and slightly charred, tossing occasionally.

Slice chicken and place in warm tortillas with veggies. Garnish with sour cream.

Crock Pot Pork Roast with Au Jus

Ingredients:

2 lbs pork roast

1 envelope dry onion soup mix

1 c water

3/4 c red wine

3 tbsp soy sauce

3 tbsp minced garlic

pepper

Mix liquids in crock pot. Place roast in liquids and spread garlic on roast. Sprinkle with pepper.

Cover and cook on low for 4 hours.

Parmesan Cornmeal Chicken Strips (Recipe from Parents Magazine)

Ingredients:

12 oz chicken strips

1/4 c cornmeal

2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese

3 tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Put milk in a shallow bowl. Mix cornmeal and parmesan in another shallow bowl.

Dip chicken in milk and then roll in cornmeal mixture.

Bake 15 minutes or until golden, turning once.

I spent a little more this week, but I will have a leftover pork roast and chicken tenders for another week!

4 thoughts on “Weekly Dinner Menu 7/16-7/22 Around $60

  1. I normally would not comment admitting this, but I ran into a problem when making these chicken strips tonight…evil little bugs had invaded my cornmeal (yes, I know, EWWWW, creeps me out too!), AND my breadcrumbs (back-up option number 1). I have made something similar to this in the past using crushed corn flakes, but I don’t eat those anymore, so I didn’t have that as an option either. I almost gave up (was feeling pretty crossed out anyway that I didn’t feel the need to eat, but I knew Jesse would want to when he got home). The only reason I bother telling this story is because I used an unopened (and therefore untainted) box of Triscuits and it was AH-mazing! Just a few crackers smashed up (you can put them in a Ziploc and roll a rolling pin over them, I just used a masher and broke them up in a mixing bowl) plus the grated parm. I did add a little Italian seasoning to the milk base, too…but you could probably choose to use flavored Triscuits for a similar effect.
    Anyway- it was delicious enough for me to think to suggest it to you (which doesn’t happen much for me since I’m not crazy about my own cooking). That, and to let you know I enjoy reading your blog 🙂

    • Oh, Rachel, that sounds delicious!! Sorry about the cornmeal, that happened to me once with my sugar, they were little tiny ant looking creatures!! I had to buy new canisters that had a better seal on them. Anyway, I am definitely going to have to try making them with the Triscuits. It sounds SO good. I am glad you like reading the blog, I hope to make more time for it in the near future. Oh and that little girl of your’s is PRECIOUS! I love seeing pictures of her!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Dinner Menu: 4/15-4/20 | Moore Than A Mommy

Get in on the conversation

