Thirst-day: Beers of the Week {4}


This week’s beers included:

Shipyard Applehead – 4.5% ABV “Shipyard Applehead is a crisp, refreshing wheat ale with a delightful apple aroma and subtle cinnamon flavor.” Apparently, the people at Shipyard asked their Pumpkinhead lover’s what other flavors they would like to see and they said “apple”. They didn’t ask me and I didn’t like this beer. I really like Shipyard’s Pumpkinhead beer. It isn’t my favorite, but I like it. (This is my favorite: PUMKING) They really missed the mark in my opinion with this Applehead, but of course that is just MY opinion. I think if it was a little darker and richer in flavor, it would have made a great Christmas beer.

Holy Mackerel Panic Attack – 10% ABV This beer was just eh (said in Canadian accent). I am not really sure, but I think it may have been the combination of Belgian yeast and Canadian malted barley mixed together that just didn’t do it for me. Some other people at the tasting thought it was the best beer they tried, but not I.

Rogue Voodoo – 5.3% ABV Oh wow! First, let me start with the description they website gives for this beer: “A collision of Crazies!…This unique artisan creation contains a baker’s dozen of ingredients including chocolate, banana, and peanut butter to match Voodoo’s (doughnut) Memphis Mafia doughnut, a nod to Elvis’ entourage.” Ok. I know what you are thinking beer that tastes like a doughnut?! I promise, it does not disappoint (unless you ACTUALLY think it tastes like a doughnut). It is a rich chocolate stout with a smooth banana and peanut butter finish. The stout has a nice dark chocolate/coffee bitterness to it that really balances out the peanut butter and banana. It is a MUST try! Bring it to a party as a fun conversation piece that everyone will want to try.

 

Bell’s Porter – 5.6% ABV This was a great porter. It has a wonderful coffee and dark chocolate flavor. Porters are a lighter version of stouts that are much easier to drink in the warmer summer months.

Ballast Point Sculpin IPA – 7% ABV I am sure that I have already expressed my dislike for IPAs, but have I told you how much my hubby loves them? Well, he does. If I try a beer that I hate, I know he will like it. I, of course, did not like this beer, but he truly did. On a scale of 1 to 5, he gave it a “5”.

 

*Wondering how I get to taste all of these wonderful wines and beers? See my original Wines-day post here.

One thought on “Thirst-day: Beers of the Week {4}

  1. Couldn’t agree more about Shipyard. I’m glad you like their pumpkin, but to me it always tastes so artificial. Same problem with the apple. The Pumpking is great. Have you tried Weyerbacher’s Pumpkin? Probably my favourite high-gravity pumpkin (the Pumpking has just a little too much alcohol heat for me to just knock back a few).

Get in on the conversation

