Easter Dessert: Strawberry Cream Puff Cake {Pie}


We didn’t do a whole lot for Easter this year. We stayed at home and didn’t have any company  (well, except for Nana, she came to see the little one). I made a simple crock pot roast, mashed potatoes, and roasted asparagus. It was super simple and delicious. I wanted to find a great dessert that wouldn’t be too sweet (because we would be so full from dinner) and used in season fruit. I scoured my Pinterest page until I found the perfect one, Strawberry Cream Puff Cake from The Girl Who Ate Everything. It was super easy and used strawberries which are my favorite.

Strawberry Cream Puff Pie {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I made the “pie” crust earlier in the day so that it could cool before I filled it with the cream. This reminded me of a pie more than a cake. That is why I am calling it strawberry cream puff pie!

This is the mixture after I added the flour and it turned into a “dough” consistency.

Strawberry Cream Puff Pie {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}I put it in the mixer and added the eggs one at a time until it was all well incorporated.

Strawberry Cream Puff Pie {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I tried to use my fingers to spread the batter up the sides of the pan like the original recipe said, but that didn’t work out so well for me. I ended up using a spatula.

Strawberry Cream Puff Pie {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

This was the finished cream puff “pie” shell. Not too pretty, but who cares! I am about to top that thing with some yumminess.

Strawberry Cream Puff Pie {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

After I creamed the sugar and cream cheese together, I added the orange zest, vanilla and whipping cream. I whipped it all together until the mixture was smooth and had nice stiff peaks.

Strawberry Cream Puff Pie {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I added the finished cream filling to the puff pie shell.

Strawberry Cream Puff Pie {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I sliced my strawberries earlier in the day and put 1 tsp of sugar on them just to give them this shiny, sweet glaze. They were definitely ripe and sweet enough without the sugar, but I love how pretty they look with that glaze on top.

Strawberry Cream Puff Pie {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I left the ring on the pan until it was time to serve it up. It was so pretty!

Strawberry Cream Puff Pie {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I made a little whipped cream (without any sugar) from the leftover heavy cream. This was such a perfect dessert. Not too sweet and so yummy. I will definitely be making this again while it is still strawberry season here!

You can find the original recipe here on The Girl Who Ate Everything.

new sign

Get in on the conversation

