Thirst-day: Beers of the Week {5}


ThirstdayThrist-day {Moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

This week’s beers included:

Leinenkugels Summer Shandy – 4.2% ABV What can I say about this beer, well, I didn’t absolutely hate it. It was ok. I am sure it would be great on a hot summer day, but the lemon flavor was a little to overwhelming for me.

Sweetwater Road Trip – 5.3% ABV Every time I have a Sweetwater beer I am taken back to a trip to Atlanta that my hubby and I went on last year. I am sure the people at the tasting are SO tired of hearing about how wonderful the tour and Friday night beer tasting at Sweetwater was, but I don’t care! It is a great memory. Now, back to the beer review…I loved this beer. I don’t think I have ever been so happy that an original recipe went awry. It is an amazing deep, rich flavor with so much intensity. It is exactly what I have come to expect from the people at Sweetwater.

Summit Horizon Red Ale – 5.7% ABV This beer was very good. I read the description and saw the picture of the hops on the label and immediately thought I was going to hate it, as I do most hoppy beers. I didn’t. It had the perfect balance of hops and malt. This is the only way to drink a hoppy beer, add malt.

Sweetwater 16th Anniversary  – 11% ABV Oh my sweet Sweetwater…I went into this thinking it was going to have a wine flavor to it, but was a little disappointed. Apparently, the name “Red Wheat Wine Ale” doesn’t have anything to do with wine the way I know it. Still, this beer was really good and with an ABV of 11%, after a few, the taste won’t even matter!

Lexington Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Stout – 8% ABV This is the second beer I have tasted that was a bourbon barrel beer. This one was much better than the first (I don’t remember the name of the first one). It had a nice stouty, chocolate and coffee flavor mixed with a hint of Kentucky bourbon.

*Wondering how I get to taste all of these wonderful wines and beers? See my original Wines-day post here.

2 thoughts on “Thirst-day: Beers of the Week {5}

  1. One of my best friends grew up in Minnesota and loves Leinenkugels Summer Shandy. I’m not really a fan. She asked me how she should cook with it, I told her it might make a good popsicle? I have to try that Lexington stout, I love a bourbon barrel ages stout!

Get in on the conversation

