Broccoli Chicken Casserole {Recipe}


Broccoli Chicken Casserole {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}After a failed attempt at a two-day cleanse (long story), I had a lot of chicken and veggies leftover and no idea what I was going to make for dinner. I scoured the internet and my Pinterest page for a recipe for broccoli chicken casserole, but all of the recipes I found called for pre-cooked chicken. I don’t know about you, but I find it to be a pain sometimes when I have to cook something (especially chicken because it takes so long) before I use it in a recipe so, I decided to use what I had on hand and create my own recipe.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}I knew I wanted to use broccoli, cheese, chicken and rice. I also grabbed some whole wheat Ritz crackers and a can of cheddar cheese soup (just the things I had on hand). I only had Mexican cheese, but this would be much better with cheddar cheese.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

First, I mixed the milk and cheddar cheese soup together in a large bowl. A lot of the recipes I found used water, but I like to use milk for a creamier sauce. You could also use 1/2 milk and 1/2 white wine to dress it up a bit.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}I mixed the rice, broccoli, and 1/2 of the shredded cheese in with the cheese sauce.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}The chicken went in the bottom of a greased 9 x 13 pan and I seasoned it with salt, pepper, and paprika.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}I topped the chicken with the broccoli, rice and cheese mixture and topped that with the rest of the shredded cheese.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}I didn’t want the crackers to be crushed too fine so I just used my potato masher to crush them up a little. I also added Italian seasoning to the crackers for a little extra flavor.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}I spread the seasoned crackers on the casserole (I also added a little more cheese on top of that) and I poured melted butter over the top.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}I baked it all for 55 minutes and it came out beautiful. The chicken was tender and very flavorful and the rice and broccoli were cooked perfectly (for me). If you like you broccoli more tender, you could always cook it first, but that would defeat the whole “no precooking” that I was going for with this recipe!

Broccoli Chicken Casserole {Moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}Yummy cheesy broccoli and chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

You can print the recipe from a PDF here…Chicken Broccoli Casserole {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

signature

Get in on the conversation

