Spring Porch Spruce-Up {Tiered Flower Pot}


This weekend was very nice in our area of Florida. The temperature was in the mid 70’s and the sun was shining. I could definitely tell that spring was in the air!

We have lived in our home for 5 years now and I have always hated our front porch (among other things, we really need a new house). It is tiny, more like a stoop that a porch, and really just boring. Because it is so small, I can’t ever find a potted plant to put there that looks good, but recently, I saw a picture of one of those topsy-turvy pots (you know the ones that are at all angles) and thought that if I could make something taller like a tiered pot, it would really bring some color into the space without taking up too much of what little room we have.

I went to Lowe’s and picked up some flowers that I liked and a couple of non flowering plants, including two citronella plants (hoping to keep the mosquitos away). I also picked up four pots of varying sizes that were all the same color and design. I only ended up using 3 of the pots, but I think the overall product turned out pretty cute and it fit perfectly on our tiny porch.

Three-Tiered Flower Pot {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

Here is a picture of our front porch before. It is so tiny and just really blah.

Three Tiered Flower Pot {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I took the largest sized pot and inverted a small old pot that I had lying around in the center of it. I did this to keep the pot light and also to avoid using way too much soil. I filled the rest of the pot with soil up to the rim of the inverted pot.

Three Tiered Flower Pot {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com} Three Tiered Flower Pot {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I placed the next sized pot on the inverted pot and put a smaller inverted pot inside of it. I added some cardboard that I tore into large pieces under the inverted pot to take up a little more room. Put the smallest pot on top of the inverted pot in the middle. I added the flowers to the pots and filled the pots with soil. I put the non flowering plants (citronella and an ivy type vine) in the bottom pot, some small annual flowers in the second pot, and a taller flowering plant in the top for some added height.

Three Tiered Flower Pot {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

This is the finishes product! You could definitely get more plants and add the fourth tier to this, but I like it at this height. Shorter plants on the second tier would have been nice too.

Three Tiered Flower Pot {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I definitely think it was the perfect choice for our very tiny porch. One day, we will have a big beautiful porch and I can have tons of pretty flowers planted all around it, until then, this will do!

What other ideas have you seen for decorating a small front porch?

Get in on the conversation

