Chicken and Asparagus Stir Fry


Last week, I made a new recipe that I found on Gimme Some Oven. It was chicken and asparagus stir-fry and it turned out great. I am always looking for ways to use in-season veggies in my dinners and this one was perfect with the yummy asparagus. Typically, when I cook asparagus, I just roast it in the oven (recipe) or grill it in foil with olive oil and salt and pepper. I have never really cooked it as part of the meal, it is usually just a side.

This recipe was super easy and very delicious. It is also pretty healthy! The only deviation I made in this recipe was to marinate the chicken all day in the soy sauce and honey so it could absorb all that yummy flavor. I also used the sesame oil to brown the chicken and the asparagus instead of adding it at the end.

Chicken & Asparagus Stir-Fry {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}While the chicken was marinating, I trimmed the root ends off of the asparagus and cut the rest of it into thirds. I sautéed them in the sesame oil until they were slightly tender (I like mine crisp, but if you want them more tender, just cook them longer). I took the asparagus out of the skillet leaving the remaining oil for the chicken.

Chicken & Asparagus Stir-Fry {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I added the chicken (reserving the marinade) and cooked until it was almost completely cooked. Then, I added the garlic, the scallions, the asparagus, and the reserved marinade and cooked it for an additional 3 minutes, or until the chicken was no longer pink. At this point, with all that yummy goodness in that skillet, I could barely contain myself and I HAD to have a bite of the chicken! It was so good.

Chicken & Asparagus Stir-Fry {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

Such a simple and delicious meal to make any night of the week! Thanks Gimme Some Oven for the great recipe!

 Printable recipe here: Chicken & Asparagus Stir-Fry {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

Original recipe here: Chicken and Asparagus Stir Fry

Chicken and Asparagus stir fry

Get in on the conversation

