Teacher Appreciation Gifts {Sunday School}


Happy Teacher Appreciation Week!

Here in the Moore household, we really appreciate teachers, but my little man is only two and he doesn’t go to school yet. That doesn’t mean that we don’t have a slue of people who “teach” him and deserve some appreciation for it. They aren’t teaching him his ABCs, they are teaching him about something far more important…the Bible. Every Sunday morning and afternoon, you can find my little man jumping for joy and begging for us to “hurry” and take him to “chewch” (that is church for those of you without toddlers). He absolutely, positively LOVES going to church and playing with his friends while learning very important lessons from the Bible. So, in honor of teacher appreciation week, I wanted to thank those wonderful people who are with my child every Sunday blessing his  life with their kindness (most of them do it for free) and love. The average “teacher” gift just won’t work for these special people. I wanted something that would thank them for what they are really doing, helping him grow in God’s love. Here is what I came up with:

Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I bought some cute coffee mugs from the Dollar Tree, but I wanted to give them a little personality

Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

so, I wrote their names on them

Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com} Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

and added little hearts. I baked them in the oven at 350-degrees for 30  minutes. This part was done during nap time.

Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

My little peanut and I went to the store and picked out these beautiful succulents to add to the cups. I chose succulents because they are super easy to care for (as you can see, the people at Walmart probably hadn’t watered them for weeks or longer and they were super dry, but still hanging in there) and are so stinkin’ cute!

Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com} Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com} Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

Then, we did what every little boy dreams of…we headed outside to play in the dirt. At least that is what he thought we were doing and that is exactly what HE did! I love how happy he was to “help” with this part. I couldn’t stop snapping his picture.

Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I filled each cup 1/3 of the way with potting soil, added the plants, and filled in the rest with more soil. I left about 1/4 of an inch at the top of the cup for some small rocks. They are helpful in the watering of the plants and also add a little bit of color over the boring brown soil.

Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com} Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

They turned out so cute! I tried to select different plants for each one to give them some character.

Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I made a simple little card and attached it with some raffia.

Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

We also have a couple of middle school girls who volunteer regularly with the preschoolers and I wanted to include them, but thought a plant was too boring so I bought them some candy and attached a little note of thanks.

Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

I think the finished product turned out great and I hope they will all love their gifts and know how much we appreciate them. I have included a free printable of the plant labels for this project. Enjoy!

Printable Sunday School Teacher Gift Card

Teacher Appreciation {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

What did you do for your child’s teacher this week?

new sign

10 thoughts on “Teacher Appreciation Gifts {Sunday School}

    • It doesn’t, but because they are succulents, they don’t need much water and it wasn’t a problem.

  1. Hi. I clicked on the link for printable gift cards and nothing is happening. Can you email it to me? Or do you have a different webpage I can go to? Thank you.

      • I got those a few years back 1st Dollar Tree in their craft section. The “n” is supposed to look like that. Like a child’s handwriting.

  2. Pingback: HEY! HOLIDAYS: DIY GIFTS TO MAKE THIS HOLIDAY SEASON – VINAZINE

  3. Pingback: Teacher Appreciation Gifts {Sunday School} - AllDIYIdeas.comDIY Ideas

Get in on the conversation

