{New Recipe} Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins


Last month, a new cookbook came out from a wonderful blogger, The Recipe Girl. So many of the blogs I follow were promoting this new book by making different recipes from it and giving away the book itself. I was so excited to enter in their giveaways (I didn’t win) and try out the wonderful recipes they posted. All of them looked so delicious!

I decided to make the Peanut butter and jelly muffins that were posted on Two Peas and Their Pod because they were super easy and what two-year old doesn’t love PBJ and muffins! I also thought it would be a great recipe to use my homemade strawberry jam.

I tweaked it a bit to make it slightly more healthy since I knew my munchkin would be eating them for the most part.

Here is the original recipe.

PBJ Muffins {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

The original recipe calls for oil, but I chose to replace it with applesauce and this little container is exactly 1/3 cup (ok maybe not exactly, but close enough).

PBJ Muffins {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl and the wet  in a medium bowl.

PBJ Muffins {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

Then add the wet ingredients to the dry.

PBJ Muffins {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

Spoon 2 tbsp of batter into cups.

PBJ Muffins {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

PBJ Muffins {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

Top with a heaping teaspoon of jam and then another 2 tbsp of batter. I had some batter left over so I just divided it between the cups.

PBJ Muffins {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until they are firm. I did not get a picture of one on a plate (I am horrified about this), but they were really delicious and a beautiful layer of jam filled the middle.

I froze the leftovers and my little man has been eating them a couple of times a week ever since. He loves his muffins!

PBJ Muffins Printable Recipe

PBJ Muffins {moorethanamommy.wordpress.com}

 

Get in on the conversation

